The Australian Guideline for Third Party Online Behavioural Advertising (the Guideline) has been formulated and endorsed by the Australian Digital Advertising Alliance (ADAA), a group of leading business and industry associations in the online advertising sector in Australia.

The founding members of ADAA are: The Australian Association of National Advertisers (AANA), the Australian Direct Marketing Association (ADMA), the Australian Interactive Media Industry Association (AIMIA), The Communications Council (TCC), the Australian Interactive Advertising Bureau (IAB), The Media Federation of Australia (MFA), The Internet Industry Association (IIA), Google, Microsoft, NineMSN, Telstra Advertising Network, Network Ten Digital and Yahoo7.

The companies that are signatories to the Guideline are: Radium One, Amobee, Fairfax Digital, Google, Microsoft, News Corp Australia, NineMSN, Mi9, REA, Telstra Advertising Network, Network Ten Digital, Eyeota, Adobe, Xaxis, Carsales Network and Yahoo7.

By becoming signatories these significant industry participants have confirmed their support for the Guideline and that they will comply with the obligations that it imposes. A six-month implementation period has been provided to allow industry participants sufficient time to comply from the time they join.

Some new signatories already comply with some or all of the obligations in the Guideline and some exceed them.

Reviews of the Guidelines have been be conducted on a regular basis following the initial review in 2011. The latest iteration of the Guideline will be available in May 2015.

The Australian Best Practice Guideline for Online Behavioural Advertising is an important first step on the road to implementing a comprehensive self-regulatory scheme.

The Australian Digital Advertising Alliance values feedback on the Guideline so if you have any comments email us.

Founding Members